Mushroom & Sweet Potato Chowder with Smoked Gouda

Since when does Francisco do all the cooking around here?? To be honest, I haven’t had many opportunities to cook much.. that is, until tonight. I am loving my new apartment in the city and so excited to embark on new foodie adventures.

While my stove is a bit smaller, the counter space is a bit tighter, I am making it work like a champ! It also helps that I have some wonderful new cookware thanks to my fantastic family & friends!

One of my new favorite cheeses is gouda. Pronounced Gow-dah in the Netherlands, its origin actually comes from a city of the same name in the Dutch Province South Holland. It is an orange cheese made from cow’s milk. And in my opinion, it is especially delicious smoked with that chewy outer rind.

So here’s a fun recipe for your future gouda endeavors, adapted to be vegetarian from Our Life in Food:

IMG_7983

Mushroom & Sweet Potato Chowder with Smoked Gouda topped with Crispy Garlic

1/2 Red Onion, diced
1/2 lb Mushrooms, sliced (I used Baby Bella mushrooms)
1-2 c. Sweet Potatoes, diced
1 cloves of Garlic, minced
2 c. Vegetable Broth
1/2 c. Half & Half
4 oz. Smoked Gouda Cheese, sliced into small chunks or shredded
Salt, Pepper, Thyme to taste

Crispy Garlic:

1 clove of Garlic, minced
1-2 Tbs. Olive oil
Paprika, Cumin, & Salt

First, you need to make your crispy garlic: In a large soup pot or a dutch/french oven (I used my new Le Creuset), turn the heat to medium-high and once hot, pour in the olive oil and the minced garlic into the pan. Season with paprika, cumin, & salt — smoked paprika is best, but work with what you have! Cook the garlic, stirring every so often, until it is a golden brown and is crispy. (~5-8 minutes)

Take out your crispy garlic and set aside, but leave the remaining oil.

Next throw in your onion & mushrooms. Stir to coat the veggies in the oil. Season with salt & pepper. Let them cook until the  moisture from the mushrooms evaporates and the veggies begin to brown. (~10-15 minutes)

IMG_7975

After that, add the sweet potatoes and the minced garlic (not the crispy kind), stirring to combine. Add the thyme and stock. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cook until the sweet potatoes are tender.

Puree as much or as little of the mixture as you want in a food processor (I used my new 11 cup food processor) or feel free to use an immersion blender in the pot. I like my chowders chunky so next time, I’ll process it a bit less. Then return the soup to the pot and add the half and half and the gouda. I sliced my gouda into small chunks, but I think it would be easier if I had shredded it.

IMG_7979

Simmer until the soup has heated through and the cheese has melted.

Serve with your crispy garlic on top! Enjoy!

Putting on more layers, I’m freeeeezing – I thought it was only September?

Love,
Mimi

3 thoughts on “Mushroom & Sweet Potato Chowder with Smoked Gouda

  1. I’ll immediately grab your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: The Classy MLT « Soups & Roots & Rants

  3. Hi Lucy,
    Thank you very much. There is a link on the side that says, “Subscribe by Email” – feel free to click that and you will be notified whenever we make a post! -Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

