Mushroom Bourguignon

When it comes to food blogs, I can be very selective. I wouldn’t say that I am judgmental, I am just weary about what recipes to follow blindly and what recipes I should simply take as an inspiration.

The one blog that I will love forever and count on always is Smitten Kitchen.

Why? Because her blog is simply elegant, fantastically organized, beautiful and everything always looks mouthwateringly good. Plus, I have had consistent major success stories with 5 of her recipes now.. but this one, that I made this evening with Rachel, certainly takes the cake.

Red wine, Mushrooms, Simmered into Submission…

Look at our stew:

editted

Mushroom Bourguignon served over Wonton Noodles and Brussels Sprouts

1 lb White Mushrooms, quartered
1 Portobello Mushroom Cap, slice and remove stems
2 stalks of Celery, slice
2 Carrots, julienne
1/2 White Onion, diced
2 cloves of Garlic, minced
2 T. Tomato paste
2 T. Butter
2 T. Olive oil
1 c. Cabernet Sauvignon
3 c. Vegetable broth
1 T. Flour
2 t. Cornstarch
1 T. Dried thyme
Salt and Pepper
1/2 12 oz. pkg of Wonton wrappers, for serving as noodles

First, in a large soup pot, melt 1 T Butter with 1 T Olive oil over medium heat. Toss in the mushrooms and mix until completely covered in the oil/butter mixture. Cook for about 3 – 5 minutes or until mushrooms begin to brown. Then pour out mushrooms and set aside.

edited mushrooms

Place all remaining vegetables (celery, carrots, onions) in the soup pot with the remaining olive oil and dried thyme and let cook for 5 – 10 minutes or until the onions turn to a nice rich golden color. Then add the minced garlic and cut for another minute or two. Salt and pepper to taste.

Now add the red wine to the stew and bring the heat to high so that the wine will reduce by about half. Next stir in the tomato paste, broth, as well as the cooked mushrooms.

Bring the stew to a boil and then let simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes. I like my stews to be especially thick so I brought the stew to a boil one more time and let it simmer for another 10 to 15 minutes. At this point, all of your vegetables should be tender.

Rich and hearty, I knew this stew needed a little something to lighten it up. While Deb from Smitten Kitchen used egg noodles, I decided to try a little method that my grandma does at home in some of her Chinese soups. We sliced up some wonton wrappers and boiled them as noodles.

IMG_0607

It worked wonderfully! They were just the right consistency!

Once you are done simmering your stew, the recipe used a roux-like mixture to thicken the stew. This means melting the butter or softening the butter and mixing in flour as a thickening agent.

While I did use that method, I find that the best thickening agent around is good old cornstarch and water. So I also made a little cornstarch mixture and threw it into the pot as well because a stew can never be too thick, right?

IMG_0608

Place the stew on medium to high heat and watch it thicken right up!

Then serve hot over a bed of noodles and one of your favorite vegetables of choice!

Once again, I have found a dish where I truly didn’t miss the meat!

Deb says, “I always argued that most of the things people thought they liked about meat they actually liked about the sauces and braises and spices they were cooked in…” and she couldn’t have been more right about this recipe!

The mushrooms truly held their own and this finger-licking stew is just begging to be eaten over and over and over again. Give it a try! You know you want to… I might run into the kitchen and eat a little bit more.

Sipping my red wine and truly yours,

Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

