Golden Beet Cookies

The past few days I have had this overwhelming craving for cookies that sort of came out of nowhere and tonight, I just couldn’t take it anymore!

After skimming through some recipes, Francisco pointed this one out to me that’s featured on Making Food and Other Stuff. Since we can never get enough of beets, I knew I had to try it. Oh, in case you didn’t know, we LOVE beets.

I decided to beef up this recipe a little bit and throw in some other little things to nibble on and it just so happened to be absolutely scrumptious! Plus instead of using just white sugar, I decided to half it and throw in some brown sugar.

If you’re craving cookies, too! You must try these:

IMG_0666

Golden Beet Cookies with Oats, Walnuts, and Chocolate Chips

1/4 c. Golden Beet (Peeled and Pureed)
3/4 c. White flour
1/8 c. White sugar
1/8 c. Brown sugar
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Baking powder
1 tsp Vanilla extract
1 tbsp Vegetable oil
1/4 c. Water
1/4 c. Whole grain oats
1/2 c. Walnuts (crushed)
1/2 cup Semi-sweet Chocolate chips — (can replace with vegan chocolate chunks)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Put all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix except: chocolate chips, walnuts and oats.

I pureed my beet using my new immersion blender/cuisinart chopper.

IMG_0655

Make a well in the middle and pour in the beets, vanilla, and oil.

Mix well. I found that my mixture was just a little too dry for my liking. So this was when I decided to use the 1/4 c. of water just to give the batter a bit more moisture.

Next, fold in the oats, crushed walnuts and chocolate chips.

IMG_0661
Place on a cookie sheet in the form of 9 medium sized cookies or more smaller cookies; They don’t spread out very much while baking, so I made mine wide and flat.

IMG_0663

(I didn’t estimate well and had to bake 6 and 3.. Oops!)

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes and enjoy!

This was a fun recipe on a whim, but I definitely want to try it again.

Next time, I’d really love to use red beets like the original recipe called for and I’d like to use just a whole lot more beet — maybe 1/2 cup or even 1 whole cup! The golden beets just didn’t bring out as much color as I would’ve liked and the beet flavor was not as prevalent as I thought it would be. I also would love to try it with different add-ins!

Overall, these are absolutely delicious cookies with a great consistency. They are the perfect comfort food to erase that long day of work and studying or even just for a fun activity to satisfy those cookie cravings!

Wishing I went to the store and bought some milk today..

With love,

Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

