Alley-Oop! Aloo Gobi

Ever since my first Indian meal, I have been in love from my very first bite. For awhile, I even went so far as to have Indian Sundays. It was an addiction, but the one thing that kept it from ever going too far was that I was always afraid to tackle real Indian cooking. It’s always appeared so daunting. Seasonings like turmeric, garam masala.. it’s seemed way too difficult.

I had finally curbed my addiction to an occasional curry every now and then, but this afternoon, my friend Sam came into the lab with some leftovers and the smell immediately pulled me in. It was homemade aloo gobi: an Indian curry dish made with cauliflower and potatoes.

Sam has quite a bit of experience making awesome Indian food and offered to write up the recipe for me right then.

I couldn’t wait another moment, I quickly finished up my work and went home to finally make that step and go buy all the ingredients to make my very first Indian dish:

IMG_0807

Alley-Oop! Aloo Gobi (Thanks for the recipe, Sam!)

1 T. Oil
1 very large or 2-3 medium sized Onion(s), diced
1/2 bunch of Cilantro, leaves and stems separated – stems chopped
3 cloves of Garlic, minced
2 Green Chilies, diced
2 8 oz. cans of Crushed Tomatoes
1 head of Cauliflower, trimmed and cut into florets
3-4 Red Potatoes, diced
1 T. Ginger powder
1 T. Cumin seeds
1 T. Garam masala
1 t. Turmeric
1 t. Coriander
1-2 t. Cayenne pepper
Salt and Pepper to taste

This recipe makes a LOT of aloo gobi so I decided to make it in my wok. Once you make aloo gobi once, it seems like a walk in the park. I promise.

First, saute the onions in the oil until they are translucent. Then add the chopped cilantro stems, garlic, chilies, and ginger.

Now add the coriander, turmeric, and cumin and saute for about 2 minutes.

IMG_0801

Gradually add in the crushed tomato cans. Then add the cauliflower and potatoes. I added about 1/2 c. of water to the mixture to keep the mixture from sticking to the bottom and covered it up! Make sure that they are completely covered by the curry and let them cook until tender.

IMG_0805

Once everything is good and tender, turn off the heat and add in the cilantro leaves and the garam masala. Then cover the mixture and let it rest for about 10 – 15 minutes before serving to let all of the flavors meld together!

This dish is best served over basmati rice or on its own!

Next time, I might add some spinach or peas just to give this dish a bit more green! But aside from that, this was everything that I wanted and more! I hope to inspire you to make the leap and go buy those spices! You won’t regret it as soon as you take your first bite of this amazing dish.

Mmm-ingly yours,
Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

