Fennel & Apple Slaw

I have a strange addiction to cooking shows. A wide range of them from Chopped to Top Chef to Worst Cooks in America. They open my eyes to new ingredients and interesting flavors that I never thought I would like–let alone even try! They constantly challenge me to awaken my palate to new tastes.

Ladies and Gentlemen, the Fennel Bulb.

Fennel & Apple Slaw

I’ve seen it used on many occasions on television, but I’d never tried it until tonight!

I decided to make a fennel and apple slaw to give fennel a try as well as practice my knife skills making julienne cuts of apple.

Here’s how it turned out:

20120229-032919.jpg

Upon my first bite of a slice of fennel, it tastes a lot like licorice, but I knew that my tart Granny Smith and the citrus of my orange juice could cut right into that.

Fennel & Apple Slaw

1 Fennel Bulb, thinly sliced
1/2 Granny Smith or Tart Green Apple
1 T. Orange juice
1/2 T. Olive oil
Dash of Paprika
Dash of Dill
Salt and Pepper to taste

I thinly sliced the fennel bulb–noting to cut out the heart of the fennel as directed from many different cooking websites.

Then julienne’d my apple. I only used 1/2 of my apple, but you could always use the whole thing! I did my best, but I am still practicing! I’ll get better, I promise!

20120229-033049.jpg

* This is where I somewhat messed up and I will steer you in a better direction.. I dressed my slaw directly on top instead of making the dressing separately and deciding later how much I’d like to use. This resulted in overdressing the slaw and took away from the crispness and making it a bit wetter than it should be. Whoops!

So for you, I recommend: in a separate bowl, place the dressing ingredients together and whisk up!

20120229-033120.jpg

Season to taste, of course! I was quite liberal with everything so my measurements aren’t exact.

Dress the slaw to your liking and there you go! A perfect side dish to be paired with a hearty entree such as our Porto steak or the Teriyaki Glazed Tempeh.

The taste surprised me. It turned out really delicious. Licorice isn’t one of my favorite flavors, but the green apple and orange juice perfectly complemented the fennel making this salad taste fresh and bright! Just the right taste for Springtime!

With a new appreciation for fennel and an overdue bedtime…

Good night,
Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

