Carrot & Ginger Soup

Last night, one of my friends mentioned carrot and ginger soup and I immediately knew what I was going to be making for lunch this afternoon. I had all of the ingredients in my fridge!

It was kind of thrown together on a whim, but I think it turned out pretty delicious! If you’re interested in a deliciously spicy soup with a sweet tangy flavor, this is exactly what you have been searching for! This recipe serves 2 for a nice light lunch to be paired with a delicious sandwich or salad of your choice!

IMG_6373

Carrot & Ginger Soup

2 medium Carrots, sliced
1/2 Onion, diced
2 cloves of Garlic, minced
2 small Jalapeños, sliced
1/2 Orange Pepper, diced
Green Onion (to garnish)
2 c. Vegetable Broth
1 T. Olive oil
1 T. Ginger powder
2 tsp. Coriander
2 tsp. Basil
Pinch or two of Cayenne (I like things spicy, what can I say?)
Salt and Pepper to taste

First, place the onions and the garlic into a pot with the olive oil set on medium to high heat. Cook until the onions are translucent.

Then add the jalapeños as well as the ginger powder. Throw in the sliced carrots and the diced orange pepper and cook for 3-5 minutes. Add the vegetable broth and bring the entire mixture to a boil. Season with basil, coriander, cayenne, salt and pepper.

IMG_6370

Next, I used my immersion blender and blended the soup. I like my soups to be a blend of chunky and smooth, but feel free to blend it to your choice!

IMG_6372

Serve immediately with sliced green onion as a garnish on top!

This spicy, yet simple carrot soup is a perfect recipe for a quick lunch or a nice appetizer to a dinner. It was rich and creamy, but not super filling! I loved the fresh green onion on top and I’d definitely throw more on if I had any leftover!

4 Days until Graduation! Happy Finals Week!

Love,
Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

