Peach and Blueberry Crumble

While abroad in Rennes, my host mom, Blandine, always loved throwing little dinner parties for the family. Whether for a special occasion like a birthday or simply to celebrate the much-needed weekend, it was always exciting to have an extravagant homemade 4-course meal!

I have never been much of a baker, but Blandine assured me that if there is one dessert that she always loves to make because of its simplicity, it was the Crumble. The recipe always stays about the same, but the fillings can change! She had an entire cookbook filled with all different crumble combinations!

For Mother’s Day, I decided to make a Peach and Blueberry Crumble inspired by Smitten Kitchen’s Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble. And it was absolutely divine!

While it’s not exactly peach season quite yet, I couldn’t resist and found myself purchasing some frozen peach slices and blueberries.

crumble final

Peach and Blueberry Crumble

Crumble Topping
1 1/3 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
4 tablespoons sugar
Zest of Orange
1/4 pound (1 stick or 4 ounces) unsalted butter, melted

Ooey Gooey Filling
2-3 c. of Peaches, slice into bite size pieces
1-2 c. of Blueberries
Juice of 1 Orange
1/4 cup sugar
3 to 4 tablespoons cornstarch
Pinch or two of salt

Set your oven to 375°F.

For the crumble topping, first melt the butter and then mix together all of the ingredients until it begins to form into little clumps of dough. Then pop that in the fridge while you make your filling!

I actually prepared my filling in the pan! I threw in my fruits and then carefully folded in the remaining ingredients. Since both peaches and blueberries are particularly sweet, I cut down the sugar a bit!

crumble filling

Next, I pulled out my topping and evenly distributed all of the crumble bits over the gooey filling.

crumble before

I let the crumble bake for about 30 – 45 minutes. Then I decided to up the temperature of the oven to 400°F until the top began to brown and the fruity filling started to bubble into the topping.

Serve hot and preferably topped with some creamy French vanilla ice cream.

The dessert turned out to be super juicy and delicious with an awesome crust-like sugary topping. I am so excited to have crumbles become a staple at my future dinner parties.

Happy Mother’s Day Everybody! Here’s to all of the wonderful mothers out there who inspire us and support us in every single way!

Filled with love,

Mimi

Ps. This recipe has also been successful using only strawberries. I made the strawberry crumble for a senior dinner with my Auditorium pals last month!

My Strawberry Crumble

strawberry crumble

The only issue that I faced with this crumble was the pan size. I highly recommend a wide and deep pan to help spread out the crumble topping better.

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

