Shrimp & Tofu Fried Rice

When I was young, we used to have fried rice fridays. My ngin-ngin’s “cho-fan” is one of my favorite things to eat, however, once I became a vegetarian, I had to say good bye to her meaty, veggie-filled fried rice.

This summer, I decided to expand my palette and try being a pescatarian. My ngin-ngin is absolutely thrilled! While she can’t make everything like she used to for me, she is making a lot of shrimp dishes like shrimp eggrolls, shrimp egg-foo-young, and now shrimp cho-fan!

This week, we worked together and made some shrimp & tofu fried rice together! I’m glad that even though I’m not a meat eater anymore, we can still bond when we cook!

IMG_6635

Shrimp & Tofu Fried Rice

1 c. uncooked Shrimp, peeled and de-veined
1 small Carrot, diced
1 stalk of Celery, diced
1/2 of a Kohlrabi, diced
1-2 cloves of Garlic, minced
3-4 c. cooked White Rice
1/2 package of pre-pressed Tofu, marinated for a couple of hours
1 egg
Oil
Soy Sauce
2 tsp. Sugar
Couple of dashes of White Pepper

We did this part in advance: 

First, I diced my tofu and marinated it for a couple of hours/overnight.
Tofu Marinade: Soy sauce, 1 T. Corn starch, 1-2 T. Water, 1-2 tsp. Sugar

In a deep skillet or a wok on medium-high heat, I poured in some oil and the minced garlic for about 1-2 minutes then added my uncooked shrimp and cooked it for about 1-2 minutes until pink and placed in a separate bowl.

Then in the remaining oil, I threw in my diced carrots, celery and kohlrabi until they are tender and then added them to the shrimp.

IMG_6622

We did this the day of:

I added some oil to the wok on medium-high heat. I scrambled the egg and cooked it in the wok then placed it in a small bowl.

IMG_6625

 

IMG_6623

 

Next, I cooked the marinated tofu in the remaining oil for about 3-4 minutes. Then I added in the pre-cooked vegetables and shrimp for a couple of minutes.

IMG_6627

Ngin-ngin threw in the cooked white rice plus about a tablespoon of soy sauce, a couple of dashes of white pepper, and 1-2 tsp. of sugar. And finally, I folded in the scrambled eggs.

IMG_6628

This was an absolutely fantastic dinner! While, it was not exactly the same as my ngin-ngin’s usual beef, pork, and shrimp filled fried rice (clearly, they don’t like meat at all), this was the perfect pescatarian replacement on a classic.

Love,

Mimi

Ps. I’ve also made a version with veggie crumbles on my personal food blog.
Click here to check it out

2 thoughts on “Shrimp & Tofu Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Chicken | Soups & Roots & Rants

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

