Autumn is coming…

photo (2)

Well, it’s official. Francisco has made it safely to London and I am moving into my new apartment in Hyde Park on Saturday. The school year is making its way here and you know what that means?

Autumn is coming!

This is my absolute favorite season. Not just because of the sweaters, the leaf jumping and crunching, and fashionable boots. It means here comes some of my favorite seasonal fruits and vegetables.

What is in season you ask? To name a few..

Fruits: 

Coconut, Cranberries, Pomegranate, and Pears

Vegetables:

Broccoli, Kale, Parsnips, Squash, Pumpkin, and Sweet Potatoes

It also is the season where it is more socially acceptable to eat soup all of the time. And trust me, I plan to.

Yes, we will have to say good bye until next year to our crisp salads chockfull of fresh berries, our flip-flops (most of us anyway), razorback tanks, and shaved ice from Tropical Sno.

But, we say hello to recipes such as acorn squash lasagna, my autumnal ratatouille, and so much more.

So as summer dies down and the cool winds begin to pick up, it’s a time for beginnings for Francisco and me. I am starting my first year of grad school and he’s off conquering the UK. Wish us luck! We’ll need it!

But don’t worry, we still have to eat and so we’ll be cooking! Until then, happy eating!

Much love,

Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

