The Classy MLT

One of my favorite sandwiches that I’ve ever had in my life was the MLT (Mushroom, Lettuce, Tomato) at Feast in Bloomington, IN. I’ve been in love with it since first bite and I’ve been dying to recreate it.

It’s fairly simple ingredients: grilled crunchy bread, sautéed mushrooms, lettuce, and tomato – plus they throw on some soft goat cheese.

Since my recent obsession with all things smoked gouda – (I mean, seriously, have you seen this chowder?) I decided to change up the Feast-style sandwich to be a bit more smokey as well as using up my leftovers for a mouthwateringly good lunch. The gouda also helps with any bacon withdrawals that new vegetarians might need to deal with (it certainly helps me).

The Classy MLT

Here’s what you’ll need:

– Slices of some type of whole grain seedy bread
– Butter (I used an herb butter, but just because it was in the fridge)
– Smoked gouda cheese, sliced
– Tomatoes
– Mixed Greens
– Sautéed Mushrooms (I used my leftover baby portabellas, but a simple white button will do)
– Spices and seasonings to taste

Sautéed mushrooms can be done in a variety of different ways. Since I was young, learning to sautée the perfectly flavored mushroom was a past-time. In my family, we usually use a splash of worcestershire sauce, seasoned salt, garlic salt, and seasoned pepper. Since worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian (tears for days when this was discovered), I omitted it from my recipe.

Just so everyone knows, in case you couldn’t tell, this method is a fairly salty way to make mushrooms, feel free to play around and figure out how you like it best. Thyme goes well with mushrooms.

Start out with a bit of oil and sweat out your mushrooms. Make sure the oil is evenly distributed and wait for the liquids to start to evaporate, but not completely. Then add the seasonings that you like. Remove the mushrooms with a little bit of the liquid and set aside. You can make this the night before and then the mushrooms marinate overnight or you can simply set them aside while you finish your sandwich.

The last bit of this sandwich is fairly simple. Grill your buttered bread slice and melt on the cheese. Then open up your sandwich and add in the sautéed mushrooms, lettuce, and tomato.

And brace yourself for a crunchy, warm, gooey sandwich!

Happy Lunch!

Mimi

3 thoughts on “The Classy MLT

  1. obsessed! Though I didn’t have cheese or lettuce… sauteed mushrooms with garlic and rosemary, rubbed the toast with garlic clove and layered with sliced tomatoes… love!!!

  2. Pingback: Sandwiches « Bessie's Veggie Food

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

