Not So Pretty Indian Lentil Soup

This evening after a long first day of school and a pretty long afternoon in the library, I decided to make some warm lentil soup. I knew that I wanted to incorporate some Indian flavors, but I didn’t want it to be too rich and hearty – so I stuck to a broth-y route.

Then I found this allrecipes creation and decided to just go for it! I didn’t have all the ingredients and I didn’t have any measuring spoons so bear with me because I did a lot of improvising and guesstimating.

photo (7)

Not So Pretty Indian Lentil Soup

1 T. Olive Oil
1/2 c. Red Onion, diced (I should’ve used more, but I ran out)
1 clove of Garlic
1/2 c. Lentils
1 1/2 c. Sweet Potato, diced
1/2 c. loosely packed Kale, sliced
2 c. Vegetable Broth
2 c. Water
Seasoned with: Crushed Red Pepper Flakes, Turmeric, Garam Masala, Cumin, Coriander, & Salt

First, I sautéed the diced red onion and the garlic in olive oil until it became fragrant. Then I added the crushed red pepper flakes, turmeric and garam masala.

Stir up until all of the onion mixture is covered.

Next, add the broth and lentils. Bring to boil, reduce to simmer, and cover that baby up!

Once the lentils have softened, you can throw in your diced sweet potato. Once again, bring to boil, reduce to simmer, and cover until your sweet potatoes become tender. If your lentils absorbed too much of your broth like me, this is when you should add more water and/or broth.

photo (6)

Now, you can season to taste with the cumin, coriander, and salt.

As a final step, throw in the kale until it wilts and becomes soft. Just to give the soup that extra colorful kick!

Enjoy! Unfortunately, the soup is not the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made, but it sure was delicious!

Love,

Mimi

Ps. True life story here, this soup was too delicious to keep as leftovers. I kept going back for more bites and now I think I may just go ahead and finish it.

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

