Lemon Herb Vegetable Hash

On a lazy Saturday morning after a very fun night out with my cousin and her boyfriend, I opened up my fridge and all I had was a drawer full of produce, some wheat bread, and some eggs.

After pouring myself a tall glass of water, I decided it was time for a good ole vegetable hash. This is the perfect way to clear out some vegetables from your fridge and make a real hearty brunch using 1 skillet and fairly minimal effort!

I used a variety of different vegetables, but feel free to pick out whatever’s lying around in your fridge:

Lemon Herb Vegetable Hash

Olive oil
1 T. Red Onion
Zucchini
Yellow Squash
Butternut Squash
Mushrooms
Tomatoes
Eggplant
Red Potatoes
Lemon Juice
Various herbs (I used basil and rosemary), Salt & Pepper to taste

This recipe is fairly straight forward so I am not going to give a very in-depth step-by-step. I rough chopped all of my vegetables – mostly diced.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, I added some olive oil and then the red onion. I slowly added all of the various vegetables and made sure they were coated in the olive oil. I let them cook through while tossing them occasionally. You want to make sure to put them in order based on how fast each of them cook.

I started with the butternut squash and potatoes. Then added the others — saving the tomato for last. You may need to add some olive oil, but you don’t want to add too much – then you have greasy soggy veggies. Bring the heat down so as not to burn your vegetables. As the vegetables start to cook and some brown, deglaze the pan with the lemon juice and spread the herbs over the vegetables.

photo

Then I fried an egg to place on top or you could add a poached egg if you have the skills. Or you can omit the egg all together and this could make for a great side dish paired with a different protein!

This dish goes perfectly with a slice or two of some crusty seedy whole wheat toast!

This vegetable hash had such a beautiful aroma and tasted great! There were all different kinds of textures and the lemon juice brought it all together.

Love,

Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

