Ratatouille Pizza

Ladies and Gentlemen,

photo (3)

I give you an amalgamation of two foods—an exploration, an embark, an enterprise—breaching a new frontier for the future of foodiedom. I swear to you: I conceptualized this one my own. I was disappointed when Google told me that this recipe already exists, and has been done a million times. Whatever.

This recipe is for a flaxseed, cracker-y kinda crust. I made it super thin, with no cheese or excess oil. Mostly because I’m cheap. I’d recommend  goat cheese, if you wanted to do it, and of course, looking up another pizza crust recipe if this one doesn’t seem your style. I’m not a pizza person (gasp!), so I like things with minimal bread and grease so I could really taste the veggies. This functions as more of a snack than anything and makes two small-medium pizzas.

Pizza Crust:

2 c. whole wheat flower
1 packet dry active yeast
1 c. warm water
1/4 c. flax seed meal
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. honey

Toppings:

1 eggplant
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
1 red pepper
1/2 red onion
1/4 c. tomato sauce
1 1/2 t. toasted garlic
1/2 t. lemon pepper
salt & pepper
2-3 T. olive oil

To make the crust.

Mix yeast and honey in HOT water, but not boiling or it will scald the yeast and kill. Let sit 10 minutes until foamy. In a large bowl, mix flour and flax seed meal with salt. Add yeast mixture. Mix until all flour is incorporated. Knead for about five minutes. Let rise 30 minutes-2 hours. Poke it and let sit 20-30 minutes. Roll out with lotsa flour, about 1/2 inch thick. I made mine a heart, because, you know.

photo (6)

Preheat the oven to °350 F.

I have the privilege of owning a mandoline, the greatest/most frivolous kitchen utensil to date. Basically, it cuts your vegetables really thin, like beyond the thinness of manual human culinary capability. If you don’t have a mandoline (it’s okay, get one), just hand slice them real thin with a very sharp knife.

photo (5)

Spread on the tomato sauce (and cheese if you have it). Layer the vegetables alternatingly over each other, along the circumference of the crust. Smitten Kitchen-style: eggplant, zucchini, yellow squash, red pepper, repeat. Slice up the onion, pepper, eggplant, zucchini. I sprinkled the onion on top, but you could also layer it in! Brush all the vegetables in the olive oil so that they can brown well. Season it with everything you got.

photo (4)

Bake for 20-30 minutes but BE CAREFUL. Consistencies for the crust vary dependent on how thick or thin you rolled it out, and if you didn’t have a mandoline, your veggies will definitely take a little longer. You want everything to look a little crispy.

photo (2)

I kinda wish I had used less eggplant and more zucchini. The more oil, the better because it really makes the better portion of your pizza taste more like a pizza. Mix it up. Try new vegetables. Honor your inner, little chef. Anyone can cook.

Francisco

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

