Tacos with Homemade Pico de Gallo

I am a humongous junkie for Mexican food lately. I love it all! Tamales, burritos, chile rellenos – you name it, I probably love it. I’ve been eye-ing the corn tortillas at the store for weeks now, but I wanted to wait until I had a day when I could fully invest the time to make super delicious vegetarian tacos.

Today, I had the day off from my internship so it was perfect! I made the pico de gallo the night before and roasted the sweet potatoes this morning and everything was ready by 12:30. What a fantastic day! I originally planned to eat three, but then I went in for a 4th. This recipe makes for quite a bit of tacos! Look forward to leftovers or think about entertaining some guests!

Here’s what I did:

IMG_0023Tacos

2 Sweet Potatoes, peeled and diced
1 12 oz. can of Black Beans, drained
1 12 oz. can of Whole Kernel Corn, drained
2-3 cups of Kale, chopped
1-2 Avocados, diced
Small Corn Tortillas
Olive oil
Chipotle Pepper grind
Cumin
Salt and Pepper to taste
Hot Sauce for added flavor – I used Tapatío, obviously.

Homemade Pico de Gallo

3 Small-Medium Tomatoes, de-seeded and diced
1/2 Red Onion, diced
1 Jalapenos (de-veined and de-seeded optional), diced
2 cloves Garlic, minced
2-3 T. Lime Juice
Salt & Pepper to taste
2 T. Cilantro, chopped

I highly recommend making the pico de gallo the night before. It lets the flavors meld together nicely and gives it that extra bit of flavor.

For the pico de gallo, simply dice all of the ingredients vegetables, mince the garlic and mix into a bowl. I don’t de-vein or de-seed my jalapeños, but that’s just because I like the extra kick! Then pour in the lime juice – you can use fresh lime in which case I recommend using 1 whole lime! To be honest, I didn’t have any cilantro handy, but it’s pretty essential! So if you’re making this recipe, toss with some chopped cilantro and add salt and pepper to taste! Cover and refrigerate!

IMG_0032

In a large mixing bowl, toss the diced sweet potatoes with 1-2 T. of olive oil, chipotle pepper grind, cumin, salt and pepper. Feel free to be generous with the salt! I roasted my potatoes for about 40 minutes at 325 F then for an additional 10 minutes at 400 F. This gives them a nice crisp outside! Make sure you occasionally open the oven and give these potatoes a nice toss! For those of you who do not know about the Silpat – I highly recommend this purchase! It will change your life!

IMG_0024

While your sweet potatoes are roasting, it’s time to cook the rest of the ingredients. In a wide skillet on high heat, brush only the teeniest bit of oil and then once it is hot, pour in your corn kernels. Spread them out evenly and let them cook for a good 5-7 minutes until they start to brown on the bottom. Season with salt and pepper – maybe a little cumin if you’re feeling cumin-y today. Then mix them around for a bit longer and then pour into a mixing bowl. Cover with saran wrap!

Next, cook your black beans in the same skillet on medium heat – just until they are hot. No need to stir too frequently, otherwise your beans will turn to mush fast! If you are concerned about the mushiness, pour in a tiny bit of water to the pan, but make sure to drain it! Then pour into the same bowl as the corn and re-cover!

Now you need to steam your kale! Make sure to wash the leaves thoroughly. Kale’s coarse leaves can hold quite a bit of dirt! Steaming the kale shouldn’t take too long – you could even use the same skillet if you rinse after the beans! In the skillet, add about 1″ of water and bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Throw in the kale and cover for about 3-5 minutes until the kale is wilted! Then place to the side!

Last step:  you have two different choices! You could either steam or grill your tortillas! To grill, simply place on the skillet for about 2-3 minutes on each side until it is warm! Or you could wet a paper towel with water – wrap the tortillas in the paper towel and microwave for 30 seconds to 1 minute! Either way, you’re ready to start assembling! Don’t forget the best part: the diced avocado!

Add all the ingredients to the tortillas and take a big bite!

IMG_0030

I like to add some hot sauce for some bonus flavor, but that’s up to you! That’s the best part about homemade tacos, you can make them your own! You could even make a non-vegan version and throw in some cheese! These tacos were UNREAL and totally worth the time to make!

I can’t wait to eat them again for lunch tomorrow!

Love,
Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

