Apple Frangipane Tart

I’m going to introduce this post by answering a few FAQs:

What is a frangipane, anyway?

Not to be confused with the flower, frangipane is a delicious buttery almond paste that can be made in about ten seconds. It’s used as pastry filling and cake filling and pretty much any kind of filling. I describe my personal recipe below, adapted from something I found on the internet.

What is the difference between a pie and a tart?

The discrepancy here is a little shady. Many people define a pie by its sloped edges, fitting specifically into a pie dish. A tart goes into a tart dish, right? Let’s split hairs. The crust of a pie is usually flaky, buttery, kinda short-bready. Tart crust is usually stiffer and needs to keep its shape when it leaves its tart shell.  Pies are usually gooier, like jam. That’s a weird word. Gooier.

Tarts are always open-faced, more often than not, the fruit is dried in such a way where it will be moist, but not gooey.

What occasion is this pie for, Francisco?

Why, it is for my Autumnal Equinox Harvest Moon Party, thanks for asking.

Is it even fall yet?

No, not yet. Just wait until September 22, my love.

Why wasn’t I invited to your party?

You were, honey. I sent you a message on Facebook.

No you didn’t, I just checked.

Oh, shoot, my wireless must have messed up the invites. I totally meant to invite you.

Just get on with the recipe. 

INGREDIENTS:

One Best Pie Crust In The World
1 c. almond meal + 1 T.
1/2 c. sugar + 2 T.
2 T. flour
1/4 t. salt
1 large egg
4 T. unsalted butter, softened
1 t. vanilla
4 large apples, cut and slices
2-4 T. lemon
lotsa cinnamon

SO, let’s tackle this in three parts. PART ONE; make The Best Pie Crust In The World and store it in the fridge for at least two hours, but don’t leave it in your fridge for two weeks, like I did. After you’ve formed the crust to a plate, keeping the edges of the crust inward to make it more tart-like, and then refrigerate until you need it.

PART TWO; Make the Frangipane. Combine almond meal, flour, sugar, salt in a medium bowl. Then combine with butter, egg, vanilla until the mixture forms a thick paste. Thick enough to keep it’s shape. If it’s not thick enough, add more almond meal, and a little flour in moderation.

561409_3115595645943_1684067863_n

Mmmm gooier.

Next, spread the frangipane at the bottom of your pie crust for a real thick layer that coats up on the sides as well.

1239491_3115595725945_2145751189_n

Cut up the apples into your desired shape. Most apple tarts have this kinda flower thing going on, but me, being the clever person that I am, wanted to go agains the grain. So I thought, hmm what if I make my apples into this kinda weird log-stick shape so that they look like french fries wouldn’t that be a good idea?

Coat your apples in lemon juice, then 2 T. sugar, 1 T. flour, and cinnamon as desired. Cinnamon is optional, but you know I’m a sucker for cinnamon.

1234888_3115595565941_1072730183_n

So yea, take your french fries, or whatever they are and when they’re all fully coated, plop them on top of the frangipane layer. I started to arrange mine in this brick layer kinda thing because I thought that would be cool?

541397_3115595605942_1974875544_n

It wasn’t. I ended up piling them on like firewood.

1240398_3115596445963_693948427_n

Bake at 400 degrees and then reduce to 375 when after ten minutes, letting the crust toughen. Take it out after 50 minutes or so, or until you can put a fork through an apple with just a hair of resistance. Now you have this weird awesome delicious almondy pie that looks like it is filled with french fries.

Love,
Francisco

1240314_3115596485964_1469921939_n

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

