Eggplant Roll-Ups

So I made ratatouille the other day and I had some leftover eggplant. I decided to have a lavish meal since I am officially on winter break! I was also in need of clearing out some things in my fridge. My aunt bought some skewers of herbed goat cheese and roasted beets for me this past weekend and I wanted to use those, too! This was the end result:

IMG_2999

Eggplant Roll-Ups

1/2 – 1 Eggplant, thinly sliced vertically
4 oz. Soft Goat Cheese
1-2 T. Fresh Parsley, minced
1-2 T. Fresh Chive, minced
1-2 T. Fresh Basil, minced
1 T. Fresh Lemon juice
1-2 T. Heavy Whipping Cream
Black Pepper
1 Beet, roasted and chilled, minced
1 15 oz. can of Diced Tomatoes
2 tsp. Dried Oregano
2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper
1 T. Garlic, minced
3 oz. Fresh Mozzarella, sliced
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper

Serve over a delicious grain such as couscous, pasta, or rice!

Eggplant Roll-Ups

After slicing up the eggplant into thin vertical slices, I decided to whip up the herbed goat cheese with cream, lemon juice, and the minced beets resulting in this beautiful pink!

Then I placed it in the fridge to stay fresh.

IMG_2987

Then, I brushed the eggplant slices with olive oil and lightly sprinkled cracked black pepper and salt. I placed them in the oven at 350 degrees for approximately 10 minutes.

IMG_2990

While the eggplants were roasting, in a medium sauce pan over medium-high heat, I placed 1 T. of olive oil and sautéed some minced garlic. Then I poured in the can of diced tomatoes. Seasoned with oregano, salt, and crushed red pepper flakes.

IMG_2988

I added about 3/4 c. of water and brought the sauce to a boil then let it simmer. Once the eggplant was ready, I let it cool for a few minutes and then rolled them up. I placed about 3/4 – 1 T. of goat cheese mixture inside and put them into a greased baking dish.

IMG_2994

Once in the dish, I poured in my tomato sauce and placed the slices of mozzarella cheese on top just covering the eggplant.

IMG_2996

Since all of the ingredients are already cooked, the last step is broiling the cheese on top.  I set the oven to broil and let the eggplants cook for another 5 – 6 minutes until the cheese had all melted and began slightly browned on top!

I served my eggplants with couscous and took the remaining sauce left in the dish and placed more on top.

IMG_2999

While there were quite a few steps involved, this dish was well-worth the effort! The cheese inside was rich and creamy which paired perfectly with the spicy and acidic tomato sauce on top. If I could change anything, I would probably have just made more and maybe incorporated more beets into the goat cheese mixture. The beets were not super prominent in the dish, but I did love the color they added to the cheese.

Try it out! It’s delicious!

Love,
Mimi

Ps. Keep warm! It’s cold out there! Happy Winter!

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

