Blueberry Lemon Basil Pie

I admit it, I’m a total TV junkie. I like all kinds of shows from Parenthood to Orange is the New Black to MasterChef. Last week on MasterChef, the challenge was to make a riff on blueberry pie. I thought to myself, how great would it be if someone tried using basil? I saw everyone zesting in different citruses like orange or lemon. Then I looked at my container garden in the living room and saw my lemon basil plant looking extra happy today and ready to be baked in a pie!

Image

 

Got some lovely [way too expensive] blueberries (Michigan Blueberries that taste like heaven) from the Logan Square Farmer’s Market and I was ready!

Now, I do not know what crazy person would choose a 95-degree day to bake a pie at 425 degrees, and yet, here I am. I had to try it! A little sweat doesn’t hurt, and I promise none landed in the pie! 

So here it is. Could’ve been more liberal with the blueberries. 

Image

Blueberry Lemon Basil Pie

Two 9″ Pie Crusts; I like to make homemade. Here’s one of our recipes
4 c. Blueberries, fresh or frozen; rinsed and patted dry
1/2 c. Sugar
1/4 tsp. Cinnamon
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 T. Lemon Basil, ribbons
1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 T. Cornstarch 

First, line a 9″ pie pan with your first crust. Lightly fold the ingredients together. Be mindful not to smash many blueberries. 

Image

Pour in the mixture evenly into the pie crust. I feel that I could’ve used MORE blueberries. Feel free to dabble with that and taste test your ratio with the other mix-ins. 

Cut up your second pie crust into strips and make a lattice top and brush with an egg wash (1 egg optional). Here’s our blog post on how to make a lattice top

Image

Serve with topped a dollop of whipped cream or your favorite ice cream flavor on the side. The crust was a dream, the blueberry filling was just what I wanted – not too sweet, not too sour. Really good flavor! 

Image

Image

Love, 

Mimi

Questions, Comments, Complaints?

