How to make your own Pumpkin Puree

It’s a lot easier than you’d think.

Pick out a pumpkin that is rich in color and free of mold. Mine came pre-wrapped, as a quarter of the monster was plenty enough for one dude. Though the squash I had was definitely a jack-o-lantern pumpkin, I’d recommend a pie pumpkin or a sugar loaf pumpkin, which is not only sweeter in taste, but finer in texture, rather than all intestine-like.

All the instructions I read through told me to just cut large slices and set them onto the pan after coating in canola oil. Set at 400° and bake for 30 minutes, like this:

IMG_0214

I dissent, however, and I think that maybe those handling the pumpkin were too lazy to get through the shell, when in reality, the pumpkin would have cooked faster if cut into sizeable chunks. After an hour of baking it the WRONG way, I could see a large center of uncooked pumpkin flesh and proceeded to cut it up like this:

I had to set aside the pieces that were completely cooked through, and continue to cook the bigger pieces. If they’re all cooked through, the skin will peel right off of the flesh, and you can carve that good stuff out into a food processor. Blend, add water if it’s not chopping up, and cinnamon, if you’re me. It’ll look just like Libby’s! Sorry for the bad picture.

puree2

Love, Fran

4 thoughts on “How to make your own Pumpkin Puree

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Hazelnut Mac & Cheese « Soups & Roots & Rants

  2. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  3. Pingback: Penne with Pumpkin Alfredo Sauce « Soups & Roots & Rants

  4. Pingback: Soups & Roots & Rants

Questions, Comments, Complaints?